MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF COUNCIL MAYFIELD VILLAGE CIVIC CENTER - CIVIC HALL Monday, January 8, 2024 - 6:30 p.m.

The Council of Mayfield Village met in Special Session for the purpose of holding the Organizational Meeting of Council on Monday, January 8, 2024, at Mayfield Village Civic Hall. Councilman Schutt called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

ROLL CALL: Present: Mr. Arndt, Mrs. Jurcisek, Mr. Marquardt, Mr. Meyers,

Mr. Murphy, Mr. Schutt and Mr. Williams

Also Present: Mayor Bodnar, Ms. Calta, Mr. Coyne, Mr. Wynne,

Mr. Cappello, Assistant Chief Libens, Chief Matias,

Mr. Russell, Mr. Sipos, Mr. Marquart,

Mr. McAvinew, Ms. Wolgamuth and Mrs. Betsa

Absent: None

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was given.

INAUGURATION OF ELECTED AND APPOINTED OFFICIALS

Administration of oaths of office to:
Mayor Brenda Tedeschi Bodnar

Councilman Schutt stated, I will be administering the oath of office to returning Mayor Brenda Tedeschi Bodnar.

Mayor Bodnar's daughter Krissy and husband Paul joined Mayor Bodnar as her oath was administered.

Mayor Bodnar stated, thank you to all of you.

Councilman Schutt stated, Mayor, it has been a pleasure working with you the past 6 years. I look forward to our continued working relations as well. I know you have the best of heart for Mayfield Village. We appreciate everything you do.

Mayor Bodnar stated, thank you, Steve. I look forward to working with you and all of our Administration and the wonderful Council we have. To all of the people who are here tonight I appreciate you because you are actively engaged in our community and you make it a better place. Thank you.

Councilman Schutt stated, thank you.

- Ward 1 Council Member Bill Marquardt

Mayor Bodnar stated, first I have the honor and privilege to swear in the longest standing Council member, Mr. Bill Marquardt. Bill has been on Council since 1996. He has been on Council for 28 years. Bill, we appreciate your service and dedication.

Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to Mr. Marquardt as Ward 1 Council Member

- At-Large Council Member Jennifer Jurcisek

Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to Mrs. Jurcisek as At-Large Council member. Mrs. Jurcisek's family members came to the podium as she was sworn in.

- Ward 3 Council Member Denny Murphy

Susan Germovsek, Notary Public for the State of Ohio, administered the oath of office to Mr. Murphy as Ward 3 Council Member. Mr. Murphy's family members came to the podium as he was sworn in.

Administration of Oaths of Office

Mary E. Betsa, MMC, Clerk of Council

Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to Mary E. Betsa, MMC, Clerk of Council for Mayfield Village.

Mayor Bodnar stated, Congratulations and thank you so much.

<u>Thomas Cappello – Engineer</u>

Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to Thomas Cappello, Engineer for Mayfield Village.

Mayor Bodnar stated, Congratulations and thank you so much.

Ronald C. Wynne – Director of Finance

Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to Ronald C. Wynne, Director of Finance for Mayfield Village.

Mayor Bodnar stated, Congratulations and thank you so much.

Diane A. Calta, Esq. – Law Director

Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to Diane A. Calta, Esq., Law Director for Mayfield Village.

Mayor Bodnar stated, Congratulations and thank you so much.

Anthony J. Coyne, Esq. – Assistant Law Director

Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to Anthony J. Coyne, Esq., Assistant Law Director for Mayfield Village.

Mayor Bodnar stated, Congratulations and thank you so much.

• <u>COMMITTEES</u>

. Motion to Approve the Committee selections for 2024.

Mrs. Jurcisek, seconded by Mr. Marquardt, made a motion to approve the Committee selections for 2024.

ROLL CALL: AYES: All Motion Carried

NAYS: None Committee Selections for 2024

Approved

Mayor Bodnar stated, and now, I have the honor of administering the oaths of office to all of you who have graciously given your time and your expertise and your energy to volunteer by serving on a Committee or Commission for Mayfield Village. If you are here in that capacity, I ask you to please stand. Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to the 2024 Committee members in attendance.

- Administration of oaths of office to 2024 Committee members in attendance (those not in attendance will be sworn in at a later date):
 - . Architectural Review Board
 - Steven Varelmann
 - James Triner
 - Board of Appeals
 - Alexandra Jeanblanc

Citizen's Advisory Committee

- Bob Haycox
- Rosemarie Fabrizio
- Joanna McNally
- Lorry Nadeau
- Mark Granakis
- Patti Ferris
- Peter Gall
- Monica Syracuse
- Robert Gessner

Commission on Aging

- Ed Hoenigman
- Audrey Schmidt
- Ralph Tarsitano

Planning and Zoning Commission

- Henry DeBaggis

Parks and Recreation Board

- Pat Andrzejczyk
- Mary Murphy
- Dave Perout
- Meg Stifler
- Kate Sullivan
- Peggy Kerver
- Troy Koch
- Aaron Caunter
- Terrie Haycox
- Derek McDowell
- Dona Kless
- Steve Jerome
- Patti Fioritto
- Patti Simcic

Records Commission

- Lorry Nadeau

Mayor Bodnar stated, thank you very much. Welcome aboard. Please stop at the table to sign your oaths.

Nomination and Election of Council President and Council President Pro Tem for 2024

. Election of President of Council for 2024

Mayor Bodnar stated, I would like to open the floor for nominations for Council President for 2024. Do I have any nominations?

Mrs. Jurcisek, seconded by Mr. Arndt, nominated Councilman Steve Schutt for Council President for 2024.

Mayor Bodnar asked, are there any other nominations for Council President?

There were none.

. Motion to close the nominations for Council President for 2024.

Mr. Murphy, seconded by Mr. Meyers moved to close the nominations for Council President for 2024.

Mayor Bodnar asked, any discussion?

There was none.

Mayor Bodnar stated, okay, at this point, we have a nomination and a second for Steve Schutt to be Council President for 2024. That is our only nomination on the floor so we will take a Roll Call vote.

ROLL CALL: AYES: All Motion Carried
NAYS: None Nominations Closed
Steve Schutt elected as

Council President for 2024

Mayor Bodnar stated, congratulations President Schutt. Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to Steve Schutt as Council President for 2024. Mayor Bodnar stated, congratulations.

Election of Council President Pro Tem for 2024

Council President Schutt opened the floor for nominations for Council President Pro Tem for 2024.

Mr. Meyers, seconded by Mr. Arndt, nominated Councilwoman Jurcisek for Council President Pro Tem for 2024.

Council President Schutt asked, are there any other nominations?

There were none.

Motion to close the nominations.

Mr. Murphy, seconded by Mr. Meyers, made a motion to close the nominations.

ROLL CALL: AYES: All Motion Carried
NAYS: None Nominations Closed
Jennifer Jurcisek Elected

Council President Pro Tem for 2024

Council President Schutt stated, congratulations Councilwoman Jurcisek.

Mayor Bodnar administered the oath of office to Jennifer Jurcisek as Council President Pro Tem for 2024.

ANY OTHER MATTERS:

Council President Schutt asked, are there any other matters to come before Council this evening?

There were none.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Mr. Murphy, seconded by Mr. Arndt, made a motion to adjourn.

The meeting adjourned at 6:53 p.m. The next Regular meeting of Council is scheduled for Monday, January 22, 2024 at 7:00 p.m.